books, readathon, tbr

Booktube-A-Thon TBR 2017!

This is a big moment for me.

As of now, in this moment, I have decided to enter the ‘Booktube-A-Thon’ reading marathon. Because I do blog about books, even if I don’t make videos, and I feel like I need to properly immerse myself into the Book Community at some point by completing a Readathon.

This time is now.

So, what is the ‘Booktube-A-Thon’? Well, it is a Readathon, hosted by Ariel Bisset (the YouTube channel for the Readathon can be found here!), which is running from 24th July to the 30th July, in your time zone.

I’m in the UK, and right now it is the 23rd, so I have about twelve or so hours before the Readathon begins. I’m not anticipating being able to read a lot of books this week, as it’s coinciding with a lot of personal things that I’m prioritising above my reading, but I still want to give this a go.

There are a few challenges to optionally complete this year, as well, which I’ll list in a few moments, along with the books I plan to read, as an aspirational TBR. I am definitely a mood reader, though, so I’m not holding out much hope of me reading all of these.

CHALLENGE 1: READ A BOOK WITH A PERSON ON THE COVER

for this challenge, I’m going to try and read The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, because that’s one of my English Literature coursework reading books, and I’ve also had it sitting on my shelf for about six months, now, and I should really read it.

CHALLENGE 2: READ A HYPED BOOK

for this, I want to read The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson, I read I’ll Give You the Sun a couple of years ago and I loved it so much. I bought this book back in January, and, again, I should really read it.

CHALLENGE 3: FINISH A BOOK IN ONE DAY

this challenge is a challenge I know I won’t have any trouble in completing, so I’m going to go for a non-fiction title for this; She Wolves, the Notorious Queens of England by Elizabeth Norton. I actually only bought this two days ago, and I am so looking forward to reading it. I’m doing an independent research project on Stephen and Matilda, so I’m hoping it will help me with that, too.

CHALLENGE 4: READ ABOUT A CHARACTER THAT IS VERY DIFFERENT TO YOU

for this, I’m picking Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, admittedly only because I’ve already started reading this, I need to finish it, and the main character doesn’t seem to act like me at all. I could be wrong, though.

CHALLENGE 5: FINISH A BOOK COMPLETELY OUTDOORS

I am… not holding out hope of completing this particular challenge, honestly, as it keeps raining over here in England. 

CHALLENGE 6: READ A BOOK YOU BOUGHT BECAUSE OF THE COVER

again, I’m manipulating this challenge. I actually borrowed this book from my college’s library, but I want to read Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James. It’s a really nice cover. It’s not like I chose it because I love Jane Austen… no, not at all, of course not.

CHALLENGE 7: READ SEVEN BOOKS

seven books? I have way more than seven books that I need to read between now and September. But, provisionally, here are my picks:

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

She Wolves by Elizabeth Norton

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James

Sovereign by April Daniels

Stephen and Matilda: The Civil War of 1139-53 by Jim Bradbury

Are you doing the Booktube-A-Thon this year? Let me know so I can check out your TBR!

Ellie xxx

Leave a Reply

