books, Reviews, Uncategorized

The Reviewing Reel: Pygmalion

Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw

maxresdefault

What a book. What a play. What an everything.

I will be honest when I say that I love musicals. I’m not just saying that to sound cool, I genuinely love musicals. So much that I sometimes think that I was born to be a Broadway star,

I wasn’t. I can neither sing nor dance, and my acting is abysmal.

But My Fair Lady is a musical that I have not yet seen. Why? I hear you cry, especially when you discover my crippling addiction to Audrey Hepburn. Why have you not watched this, admittedly slightly odd, musical?

The answer lies herein. I wanted to read the play it was adapted from first.

I loved this. I genuinely loved it so much. It was funny, eccentric, it was a good social commentary on an aspect of British history that I am pretty interested in. All of these things made it a really fun play to read through.

Eliza is a flawed protagonist. I can see the obvious misogyny and sexism of the time shining through through both her and the characters around her, but it is a play of its time and I enjoyed it enough to overlook its obvious shortcomings.

However, Eliza is also funny, pretty strong and definitely is a good example of a strong female lead in a time when those kind of characters were few and far between. Her accent seems a little overdone, admittedly, but I can’t really comment on that.

I will say this though. Higgins is an absolute arsehole.

I gave this a 4 star rating, probably more like 4.5.

I’m definitely going to go and watch myself some My Fair Lady now, to get my 1950s movie fix, and my Audrey Hepburn hit. If you have any more recommendations for good plays I should read, then let me know! I’m really enjoying reading in the play format, and I might do my own recommendations once I’ve read a few more!

Ellie x

Leave a Reply

