books

Books I Didn’t Like

Have you ever found yourself faced with a pile of books you dislike but everyone else seems to love?

I have. Many, many times in the past. Here, I will attempt to explain why…

Number One: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

This is probably the one which may gain me the most hate, but I just don’t like the series. I read the first book, City of Bones a couple of years ago now, and when it got to the massive plot twist, I just refused to finish reading. It’s really put me off the rest of the books in the series. I might try and read them at some point, but I just don’t really want to right now. Also, Cassandra Clare sounds a bit dodgy, I’ve heard about her plagiarism allegations and I don’t really want to support her.

Number Two: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Again, I just didn’t like this. It was cliched, way too patriarchal in the society that it created and kind of just put me off from the start. The protagonist, America, was bitchy, whiny and everything bad about a teenage heroine. This book was hailed as ‘The Bachelor on Steroids’, but I don’t watch The Bachelor, so I didn’t really understand what it was on about. I can appreciate the humour in the novel, though, it wasn’t terrible.

Number Three: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

This book. This book. I… I have no words. It’s a really damaging novel, the way it portrays pretty much every subject it covers is really bad. I don’t think it’s a good book in any way. I won’t go into spoilers, as I really want to write my own review on it soon, but for now check out Hannah Tay’s review of The DUFF, as she sums up everything I feel about the novel.

Number Four: Fever by Dee Schulman

I have, however, written a full length review on this novel, so feel free to check it out here. In summary, this is one of the worst books I have ever read. It is genuinely really bad. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

Number Five: Chasing the Stars by Malorie Blackman

I adore Malorie Blackman. I’ve seen her on stage at the Hay Festival (post to come on this year’s #Hay30 very soon!), I’ve read all her other books, but I just hated Chasing The Stars. I hated it with a passion. I know it’s a very different genre to everything she’s ever written before, but the instalove – not a spoiler, it happens in chapter two – just made it more than I could handle. Sorry, Malorie. I do love you really.

Number Six: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I know several people that also dislike this book/book series, so I don’t feel as alone in this one. However, it does still have a large fanbase, so please don’t hate on me too much if you absolutely adored this series. I plan to go back to it in the future, but it was really slow going at the start of the first novel, which made it hard to enjoy.

And that does it for the list of books that I disliked! I do have some more, but I might save them for another post if you all like this one enough. 

Thank you for reading, and let me know what books you dislike!

Ellie x

2 thoughts on “Books I Didn’t Like”

  1. I found this so interesting! I’ve not read most of these books apart from ‘Chasing the Stars’ which I loved because that’s my sort of genre whereas the others aren’t so much. I’m much more of a soppy love story gal than an action upon action gal! I find it interesting how different everyone’s opinions are!
    I haven’t read the DUFF but I have read Run which is another of her books and I found it a bit lacking in story. It was good to read but didn’t leave a lasting impression in my mind…
    Kate xxx
    http://www.lifeinkateish.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For a soppy love story, Chasing the Stars killed it in that category. I got a bit bogged down with my own personal pet peeves but I can understand why people enjoy it.
      I’ve only heard of The DUFF, I might give Run a try and see whether I prefer that though!
      Ellie x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

