books, Reviews

YA Book Prize 2017: Beautiful Broken Things

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

Beautiful Broken ThingsBeautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ooooooooh this is #relatable

View all my reviews

First things first – this book perfectly describes female friendships and relationships. I related to the characters in this book so well, it really added to my overall enjoyment of the novel.

I really enjoyed the plot of this – it was fun and had really nice, multi-layered storylines that added to the general feel of the story a lot.

I really liked the characterisation of Caddy and the overall depiction of a female friendship. Suzanne was a bit too ‘larger than life’ though, she didn’t seem real, although that’s probably the vibe that the writer had been going for.

The writing style wasn’t my favourite, but it was definitely an easy book to get through in terms of flow. It was also just really well written, too, and I (oddly) really enjoyed the font and font size.

Also, I really love the front cover. Yes, I know, don’t judge a book by its cover, but still. It was an amazing looking book, and it definitely delivered on contents too. I did try to read this book before, about a year or so again, but I didn’t get into it and returned it to my local library.

I wish I’d read it then. For one thing, my thoughts might have developed beyond ‘I like the characters and it’s a pretty cover’, but I’m still happy that I read this book in the first place. Hooray for the YA Book Prize! Getting me to read books I set aside before.

Overall, I gave this book four stars. I really enjoyed it, it wasn’t amazing, but it was really enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

