books, Reviews

The Reviewing Reel – Me Before You

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

me-before-you

This book made me cry about five million times, I’m pretty sure. It was heartbreaking, but heartwarming at the same time, if that makes sense.

It’s been everywhere over the past few months, probably since the film came out last year. I haven’t seen the film yet but I plan to (I always read the book before watching the film), mainly because I find Emilia Clarke extremely attractive. Also, according to Wikipedia, Jenna Coleman of Doctor Who fame is also in it. As well as Matthew Lewis – aka Neville Longbottom.

But anyway, onto the book. I got this one out of my college library. One thing to note is that this was extremely easy to read. I read it all in an afternoon, which isn’t a massive achievement for me – but it made my procrastination from my English essays very enjoyable.

love the main female protagonist so much. Lou Clark is just your generic female human, lovely and not classically pretty, but still amazing. She’s pretty spunky too, I thought, in a quiet unassuming way.

Will is just a plain arsehole at the start, but considering his circumstances I can’t really fault that too much. And it’s not an

The romance between Lou and Will is lovely, and really true of real life. And it’s not an insta-romance either, which is something I can definitely appreciate.

I don’t really know what to expect from adult romance novels, but if they’re all as good as this one I might be persuaded to dip into the genre a little more.

The thing I didn’t like was the ending, which made me bawl like a small kid, sobbing into my pillow. If you’ve read this book you’ll get what I mean, and yes, I know it’s what would have happened in real life. But sometimes I just want the fluffier, happier route, okay? Sue me.

Overall, I gave this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. That half a star… I mean, I’m pretty salty when I want to be (pun not intended). But it was amazing, and I definitely want to buy my own copy of it.

giphy-4

2 thoughts on “The Reviewing Reel – Me Before You”

  1. I totally agree with this entire review! It was soooooooo good! And I cried so much. Lou was the best. Read the next one “Me after You”. But be sure to give yourself plenty of time between books – to get over the heartbreak. It’s not as good as this one but still pretty good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

