books

The Beauty of Old Books

As lovely as shiny new YA covers are, I prefer older books. For one thing, they smell nicer – less like plastic and more like the inside of second-hand bookshops. The spines are sometimes broken, but that’s how we’re meant to read books anyway.

(If you want to have your views challenged on the ways that we read, and our obsession with shiny new, untarnished books, I suggest you watch Annotating Your Books, a video by one of my favourite BookTubers, Ariel Bissett. She’s amazing.)

As I write this, I’m sat downstairs for once in my life, next to one of the large bookshelves we keep in our living room. On these shelves are kept the majority of my parent’s books – mostly classics and poetry, at least in my mother’s case.

I like looking at them. They’re just… Nice. There are some very shiny poetry collections that look nice alongside each other, but a lot of them have obviously had lots of wear and tear. They’re loved books.

I recently, after a last minute change, started studying towards an English Literature A-Level. Since then, I’ve been a whole lot more interested in reading classics and literature from the 20th century, rather than my usual ‘YA with some adult fantasy’ stampede.

Quick note: BUY YOUR CLASSICS ON AMAZON’S KINDLE STORE. Trust me. Sure, you don’t get the lovely spines, like the ones for Penguin English Library etc. etc, but most classic novels are free online. Even if you don’t have a kindle, you can download the app to your iPad/iPhone/Android phone and tablet. Even your laptop. Of course, they’re not paying me to say this (wot u doing amazon hit me up fam) but it is genuinely the best way of getting classics.

You can then spend your hard earned moneys on other books that you’ve been meaning to read. Simple!

But I digress. I just… Love old books. The ones with yellowed pages and faded covers, the ones I remember from when I was a little kid. Ones with names in from either my family member or people I don’t know.

This is turning into a pretty massive spiel with no point to it, so I’m just going to hurry on and get to what I’m meaning to say.

Enjoy old books. They won’t be there forever, so make the most of them. Read them, sleep with them under your pillow. I think that’s what I’m trying to say here.

Now, I’m off to lock up the house and sneak off to the bookshop. It’s really sunny in my town today, I’m kind of worried…

 

2 thoughts on “The Beauty of Old Books”

Leave a Reply

