books, Reviews

The Reviewing Reel: The Girl With All The Gifts

The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey 

17235026

The thing is with this book is that it’s actually hard to see the main plot point of the entire novel coming, let alone the twist at the end. I’ll try not to spoil the main plot (somehow) by talking about this novel in very… Passive tones, but don’t expect amazing things.

Well. I actually loved this book, which is surprising, as I rarely get into stories in the horror/thriller genre. I do still read them, I own some Stephen King and Neil Gaiman is one of my favourite authors of all time. But The Girl With All The Gifts has been the first real venture outside of Neil Gaiman/Stephen King for a while.

Basically, this book is about a young girl named Melanie, who is incredibly smart. Melanie has a hero-worshipping relationship, along with a massive crush on her favourite teacher Miss Justineau. It’s also important to note that this story is set in a post-apocalyptic world.

I don’t know about you, but those are often my favourite worlds. And this one doesn’t disappoint.

Because I’m avoiding spoilers, I’ll keep everything else sparse. I would recommend not reading the blurb before starting this story, it’s the kind of novel you want to go into not knowing anything about. It’s well written, though, and doesn’t take that long to get into.

There were parts that dragged, and I got bored a couple of times, but on the whole this was just a really good book.

I gave this 4/5 stars.

giphy-4

Leave a Reply

