books

The Classics Radioactive Spider

A few weeks ago, I was lying in bed, reading one of my many YA novels, when I happened to glance over at my bookshelf.

I own a lot of books, and these books include quite a few classic novels. Which, I admit, are the ones I scarcely read. I have to be in the right kind of mindset to battle through Jane Eyre again (that’s a classic I’ve read to death, it was the first one I remember reading and it’s stuck with me ever since).

Why wasn’t I reading these books? Why did I have them if I wasn’t reading them? English degrees want you to read that kind of thing, right?

Thus, I was bitten by the radioactive spider of the classic literature world.

Which brings me to the subject matter of this post. Basically, I’ve got some classic novels I’m reading/I plan to read, and I want to share them. I have a basic reading list for English degrees in the UK, and all of the authors I mention are on this list. That was maybe the basis for my decision to start reading more classics, but eh.

Before I begin, I brought most of these on Kindle ebook edition. Why? Because they’re free. Yes, I know Penguin English Library editions are beautiful and the Pocket Library covers look beautiful next to one another, but most Kindle ebook classics are free.

On Ebook:

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Complete Poems by Emily Dickenson
Complete Works by George Eliot
The Complete Collection by Virginia Woolf (this cost me 99p but it’s all her stories so it was worth it)
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce
The Last Man by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
The Way We Live Now by Anthony Trollope
Notes from the Underground by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Villette by Charlotte Bronte
The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte
Leave of Grass by Walt Whitman
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy
Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
The Iliad by Homer
The Odyssey by Homer

Paperback:

Orlando by Virgina Woolf (my mum got me this just today)
Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier
Keep The Aspidistra Flying by George Orwell
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
The Great Science Fiction by H.G. Wells (this is The Invisible Man/War of the Worlds/The Island of Doctor Moreau/The Time Machine)
A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams (I need to read this for English)

That pretty much concludes my foray into classics. Will I read them? Probably. I hope so.

 

Leave a Reply

