books, LGBT, LGBTQuibble, Reviews

The LGBTQuibble: The Upside of Unrequited

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

30653853

The Upside of Unrequited is the second novel by Becky Albertalli, her first being Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda (that links to my review that I did for that), which is a largely LGBT+ centered story. This is less completely LGBT+ centric, but it’s a massive part of the story, so there you go.

Right, to the review.

Just putting it out there, I love Becky Albertalli’s books. They’re funny; and exciting, and I always love the characters in them. This book is no different.

The main character, Molly, is a really interesting narrator. She has a loud, pretty gay twin called Cassie and two mothers, along with a younger brother. She’s had a massive amount of crushes on guys but no boyfriends and relies mostly on her twin for support.

So, naturally, when Cassie gets a girlfriend (Mina), Molly feels massively left out and turns to her Saturday job at a really cool shop and a cute guy named Ried for distraction.

I don’t know if this counts as a spoiler [SPOILER ALERT JUST IN CASE] but Simon does appear, for a paragraph or two, in this book. And I didn’t see it coming, at all. There were hints – Molly and Cassie’s cousin is Abby – but I just didn’t see it. And I’m kind of sad that I didn’t, I felt that my Simon fan skills were better than that.

But anyway. The book explores the issues of body image (slightly, it touches on it a few times), dealing with fuckboys (top tip: don’t), LGBT+ characters (in the best, most casual way possible, just how people really are in real life.

It was pretty good. Well, amazing. I really enjoyed it. And the writing style was amazing, as always. I finished reading it at 2am in the morning because I just couldn’t put it down (cliche, I know).

5/5. Would recommend.

giphy-9

Leave a Reply

