books, Reviews

The Reviewing Reel – The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti – this book is an ebook ARC from NetGalley

cover86524-medium

This was… Interesting.

Let me explain – the premise was brilliant, I adored the characters, but the sudden leap to a missing girl being a werewolf was incredibly far fetched and had little to no context. I didn’t understand in the slightest, I will be honest. But it was easy to read, with a really nice writing style, the kind of thing I really enjoy reading.

Enzo… Oh, Enzo. He’s your typical ‘messy hair don’t care’ character, lax and rebellious and playful. Everyone tells Hawthorn not to trust him, which I completely get, but why does everyone seem to dislike him in this book? We are given literally no reason, other than the fact that his girlfriend is missing.

Also, I’ll be completely honest, Hawthorn was a little odd and very twisted, taking Lizzie’s place in society so… Wholly. Taking her job is one thing – her job and her boyfriend? Just… No. No thank you. I didn’t appreciate that.

The murder mystery vibe was enjoyable, though – I always enjoy reading thrillers, and although this was more YA cliche plot twists than a throwback to The Shining, I really enjoyed it. You don’t seem to get much well written mystery in contemporary genres, so this was really welcome.

However, the ending surprised me and bored me, at the same time. I guessed the twist from the start, it wasn’t hard to spot coming, but I did enjoy Hawthorn’s emotional growth throughout the novel, along with her acceptance of both her name and her mother’s beliefs and background. That was, in a way, very inspirational, and I loved the message of that.

So, in all, I liked the book, but the plot wasn’t particularly inspired or new, as the summary made out. But I definitely enjoyed this book. I’ll give it a 4/5 stars.

giphy-4

Leave a Reply

