book haul, books

Book Haul – January 2017 Edition

I… Oh god…

This is in the rough order of when I got them; because honestly, I’ve brought so many over the past few weeks that I’m not entirely sure if this is in chronological order anymore…

Trouble by Non Pratt

img_4841

I reviewed Non Pratt’s other book Unboxed, and I said then that I really wanted to read this one; because I loved her writing so much. So guess what? I brought it. I’ve already read it – and, yes, it was amazing. She’s one of those authors now. I probably read too much YA…

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

img_4842

This has been on my TBR list for years, I swear. It’s been on my Amazon wishlist since last year, along with the next book on this list. Again, I’ve already read this book, and it lived up to the rest of Rowell’s novels. I just… I loved it.

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

img_4843

I got most of these books second hand through Amazon, which I dislike doing because they make you pay extortionist amounts for shipping, but I often get given Amazon vouchers for Christmas and my birthday. Was it worth it? Yes. I woke up on a Friday a couple of weeks ago to a pile of parcels on the dining table, all for me.

The Affinity Bridge by George Mann

img_4844

This is legitimately one of my favourite series of all time. It’s Steampunk Victorian, with a detective that gets high a lot and has a kickass female sidekick. What’s not to like? This is the first book (I started with the third…), and I have a last two to get when I have the money and the wherewithal. George Mann also does a lot of books for Doctor Who, which makes him even more cool.

The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness

img_4847

I. Love. Patrick Ness. Once I’ve read this I’ll have read all of his books. I need to buy The Ask and the Answer and A Monster Calls before I find a place where he will sign all my books for me.

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

img_4848

I go to the Hay Festival every year (except this one – I might be working there) and I went to a panel for the YA Book Prize 2016 (which, incidentally, my college shadows. I really need to get onto that, even if I’m currently not doing English Lit), where this book was one of the nominated novels. So, I brought it.

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury 

img_4845

The idea of getting this comes from the same panel as mentioned above. I haven’t read it – yet – but it looks really good. There is a sequel, I think, which just means that more of my money will be disappearing very soon.

The Kingmaker’s Daughter by Philippa Gregory

img_4849

Philippa Gregory is one of my all-time favourite authors, and I’ve actually read this book before, on numerous occasions. However, I’m trying to collect both of her Tudor/Wars of the Roses series, and this was only £1.50 from Oxfam in the city where I go to college. It’s hardback, too, which makes me so happy, even if every other book I have in the series is paperback.

The Taming of the Queen by Philippa Gregory

img_4850

Again – £1.50 from Oxfam. Have already read. This is in a different series to the one mentioned above. I’m actually studying a Wars of the Roses in History in college at the moment, so I have an excuse for re-reading it all.

The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes

img_4846

I reviewed Making It Up As I Go Along by the same author as this book, and I really enjoyed that, so I’ve taken to reading her literature. I don’t really have any other explanation.

Another Day by David Levithan

img_4871

Right. I love David Levithan, I’ve had Every Day (the book before this) since about 2012, and I really wanted to read this, despite hearing pretty negative things about him continuing this ‘series’. I got it from Waterstones, and when I got home I opened the cover, ready to have a flick through, and…

It’s signed. 

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

img_4872

This was part of a Buy One, Get One Half Price sale. I had one of those times when I just picked up random books that I’d been recommended by Booktube and bloggers and friends, etc. I spent £42 in Waterstones.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

img_4870

Another one recommended by Booktube. It’s a series, though, so I hope I won’t need to go and splash out on every other book after I’ve finished this one.

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

img_4867

I read I’ll Give You The Sun last year sometime, probably in summer (Or shouldn’t that be – sunmer? Heh heh) and I’ve been desperate to read this ever since. Also – the cover is so pretty.

A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston

img_4868

Another ‘Buy One Get One Half Price’ sale. I’m glad I got this one though because it looks fantastic and I got £4 off, which is always good.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

img_4869

This has been on my ‘maybe read?’ list for a little bit, I almost bought it a few months back but stopped myself because YA romance wasn’t what I was after at that point. But here we are, and I own this book now. I do love the covers, and I probably really need to get the other two books in this ersatz trilogy thingymajiggy.

I hope you’re all having a great January and let me know what books you’ve just brought in the comments!

Leave a Reply

