books, Reviews

The Reviewing Reel: Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

No Spoilers!

image1-9

I’m very lucky to be a part of a group that sends advance copies of books you want to read – that is if you email back quickly enough. So, in November 2016, I was sent a copy of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, by Gail Honeyman, which looks really nice from the ‘uncorrected proof’ copy (not for resale).

It was also a very good book. I really, really enjoyed reading it – I read it mostly on the coach to and back from a school trip I went on for Archaeology A-Level, which gave me a headache, but honestly it was completely worth it. I would say that it was better than looking at all the Egyptian mummies and artifacts, but it’s a close second I promise.

Eleanor Oliphant is about a woman with a dark past, Eleanor Oliphant (unsurprisingly). Although the book title might suggest that everything’s going okay – it’s not. In fact, it’s quite the opposite.

I loved the characters in this: firstly, Eleanor herself. She’s got a routine, she does the same things every day, she doesn’t have many friends, and she phones her mother every Wednesday evening. So it’s a shock to her system when she meets Raymond, who pays her an unexpected kindness.

Raymond was amazing too – a real, genuinely kind man with a beautiful heart and bright shining eyes. He seemed to jump out of the page at me, making himself seem so believable that I just had to love him as a person and for the way that he helps Eleanor, in so many ways.

There are some quite dark themes in this book, too, which intrigued me and kept me guessing right up until the very, very end. I won’t give anything away, as one of my new year’s resolutions is to write completely spoiler-free reviews (especially as this is an advance copy book), but the twist at the end really got me. I didn’t see this coming at all. 

I… Just… YES. I ADORED THIS. If you’ve read The Rosie Project – or even if you haven’t – this book really reminded me of that, especially with her links to the main character of that, Don (on an unrelated note, I just read The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion, who’s the same person that wrote The Rosie Project novels – the review for that will go up a week before the publication date, so the 2nd February). If you liked that book, really, honestly read this.

4.5 stars (deducting half a star because it was a little slow going at times, but perseverance is everything)

giphy-4

 

Leave a Reply

