books

My Autumn In Books

The Road To Little Dribbling: Adventures of an American In Britain by Bill Bryson

This book was a loan from my grandparents – one I have yet to return to them (oops), and it took me a long, long time to read. According to my Goodreads, it took me over a month from start to finish, which is a VERY long time for a fast reader like me. However, as this isn’t much of a novel, it’s just a (very funny) travel guide about England, and it’s a collection of dispatches and travel reviews, I found it easy to dip in and out of, rather than read it all in one go, which is what I usually do.

Notes From A Big Country by Bill Bryson

notes-from-a-big-country

Are you seeing a pattern here yet? I found this in my local library, in the corner where I rarely go (because all the autobiographies of people I’ve never heard of are there, along with the audiotapes. I don’t have the spare cash to get audiotapes, unfortunately), but I’d wanted to read more of his books so… There I was. That’s all the context I remember, unfortunately, but I read this much faster than the last one – in only a couple of days.

Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman

trigger-warning

If you know me well, you will doubtless know that I ADORE Neil Gaiman. He is my idol, my favourite author of all time. He is… Amazing. I love all of his books – I have Anasi Boys sitting on my bookshelf STILL waiting to be read. This is a short stories collection, again from my local library, so if you’re looking for a selection of great short stories to read before bed, look out for this. 

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

six-of-crows

THIS BOOK. WAS. BRILLIANT. FUCKING BRILLIANT. I have the second book in this series somewhere around me as I write, waiting for me to read it. I just had to renew my books from the library, a day late (stupid of me, I know), but hopefully I’ll have it read soon enough.

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

rebecca

I’d been waiting to read this for absolute ages, a stupidly long time. So that’s been ticked off my bucket list. My college actually has a pretty decent collection of fiction books to get through, I got this from there. That’s one of the main reasons I chose to go there, not going to lie.

Bombs on Aunt Dainty/A Small Person Far Away by Judith Kerr

bombs-on-aunt-daintya-small-person-far-away

I put these two books in the same place because they’re part of the same series, and I got them at the same time so I read them one after the other. I read When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit when I was about eleven, so finding out about and reading the sequels was a journey. 

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

memoirs-of-a-geisha

Oooh, this was another book I’d wanted to read for a while. Mainly because it’s set in Japan, and I love Japan, especially its history. It’s actually really interesting, although a bit tongue in cheek at some moments. It’s not brilliant, but I enjoyed it.

The Catcher In The Rye by J.D. Salinger 

catcher-in-the-rye

I got this from a second hand bookshop in town – it was brilliant. I loved it so much – you can see why so many protagonists of indie lit reference it so much. Especially for its period, it was pretty new, in the concept and the writing style. I must admit though, I only read it because of Holdo from The Manifesto On How To Be Interesting.

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

the-duff

I saw the film of this, so I decided to read the book. A classic example of why YOU SHOULD NEVER WATCH THE FILM BEFORE READING THE BOOK. Also – do normal sixteen year olds have that much sex?

Can’t Look Away by Donna Cooner

cant-look-away

This came from my local library, yet again, I just picked it up because it looked easy to read and I didn’t have a lot of free time that week. It wasn’t amazing, but it was a new book and definitely still smelled brand new, which I can totally appreciate. I love sniffing books. It’s my second drug of choice. 

When Mr. Dog Bites by Brian Conaghan 

when-mr-dog-bites

Again – from the library. It smelled really nice too, but apart from that nothing really springs to mind. I would seriously recommend it, though. It’s brilliantly written, especially for the subject matter. 

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

the-rosie-project

Just – yes. I love this books so fricking much. It’s… Beautiful. I loved it. I still love it. I need to find myself my own copy (I got it out of my college library). I talked to a friend who loves it too. I can’t say much else. READ THIS BOOK. IT WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE.

Where She Went by Gayle Forman

where-she-went

The first book in this series – If I Stay – was absolutely fantastic, so I was excited to read this sequel. However… I didn’t enjoy it as much. I won’t go into detail for fear of spoilers, but if you’ve read both books you’ll (hopefully) understand what I mean. 

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini 

its-kind-of-a-funny-story

I really enjoyed this? That’s all I remember. Again – from college library. It wasn’t standout amazing, but I still seriously enjoyed it. The characters endeared themselves to me immensely. Stories like this are things I always love, they’re just so real and honest.

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

the-da-vinci-code

I’ve actually already read this once before – back in 2015, when I was a small and innocent 15 year old. I remember liking it more then than on rereading it now. Also – why does Dan Brown present all his books as fact? I’m sorry, but this is fiction (and thankfully so in some cases, although I do believe in the illuminati). But the science bit was interesting to read about. I’m not going to watch the new film, by the way, the book is enough. 

On The Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

on-the-other-side

I’d been looking for this book for AGES. Absolute AGES. Forever and a day. And I managed to get it from my local library (who’d have guessed, eh?) . So… Yes. I am big fan. Much read. Much like. I like Carrie Hope Fletcher a lot, too, she makes great videos. 

Girl Hearts Girl by Lucy Sutcliffe

girl-hearts-girl

My boyfriend got me this book, completely out of the blue, which was a nice surprise. I read it in a night, enjoyed it immensely, and convinced him that; no, it wasn’t shit, it was actually quite good, you can write in it now because it’s staying on my shelf. And other conversations we’ve had in four and half months. It’s proof that he’s a good one though, if he buys you really fucking gay books. 

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

perculiar-children

The film was coming out, so I looked it up, saw it was based on a book and went on a hunt for it. Did I enjoy it? Yes. Yes I did. 

The Leaving by Tara Altebrando 

the-leaving

I… Don’t remember this book. Or reading it (I get all my data from Goodreads). 

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

to-all-the-boys-i-loved-before

I read this really quickly as well. It’s one of those YA novels, that read easily and flow fast and the pages are easy to turn. I think I was quite tired, too. Who am I kidding? Since college started, I’ve been constantly tired.

Playlist for a Broken Heart by Cathy Hopkins

playlist-for-a-broken-heart

I read most of the Mates, Dates series by Cathy Hopkins when I was a young eleven/twelve year old. So it was kind of weird rereading her writing style. But, it was a nice use of a weekend. Nice procrastination from work, methinks. 

Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders

five-children-on-the-western-front

Did you read 5 Children and It when you were a kid? This is almost an unofficial sequel – the same characters, but older and during the First World War. Enough said, I think. My grandmother recommended this to me. It’s weird referring to her as my grandmother, but saying ‘my nana’ is a bit odd, like I’m talking about the dog from Peter Pan.

Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty

love-and-other-man-made-disasters

This was a cute book. Really cute. I loved the male protagonist. Not the female lead so much, though, she was way too dependant on him, and too wishy washy. Where are the strong women literature so desperately needs?

WAAF at War by John Frayn Turner

waaf-at-war

I… Am a nerd.

The Bitch Goddess Notebook by Martha O’Connor

the-bitch-goddess-notebook

I found this in a charity shop in my town. It’s a little odd, very much a book for the modern age. I can’t see anyone else I know enjoying this. I have odd tastes. Which include books which contain gratuitous swearing and drug use.

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

silver-linings-playbook

Yes. Yes, this was good. I liked this a lot. 10/10.

Making It Up As I Go Along by Marian Keyes

image1-7

The Reviewing Reel: Making It Up As I Go Along

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

THIS WAS AN ADVANCE COPY BOOK (mwah ha ha ha). REVIEW COMING SOON.

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

girl-online

The Reviewing Reel: Girl Online

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen by Paul Torday

salmon-in-yemen

This weirdly reminded me of The Rosie Project, at least to begin with? Except it was nowhere near as good. It hasn’t made me want to watch the movie. A quick trip to IMDB told me all I needed to know (I dislike Ewan McGregor).

The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

the-notebook

This was sappy as hell, and very, very romantic. I don’t know if I liked it. Well, I did, I read it quickly and it was brilliant, but I don’t know whether I’ll read it again. For one thing, I’m lazy. For another, it wasn’t good enough to buy my own copy.

Unboxed by Non Pratt

image1-8-edited

The LGBTQuibble: Unboxed

Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

holding-up-the-universe

I LOVE JENNIFER NIVEN and thankfully her next book doesn’t have a horrific cover. I could actually hold this one without cringing. Thank you, publishers!

The Potion Diaries by Amy Alward

the-potion-diaries

According to Zoella (I started watching her videos), Amy is her editor. She also writes well, better than Zoella, honestly. I didn’t love the book, but it was okay. Again, wouldn’t read it again. Not worth a detailed review.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everything-everything

Ah, a book I read in an hour, took back to my college’s library and got a compliment from reading so quickly. I am proud of myself. Much proud, very book.

Unbecoming by Jenny Downham

I saw Jenny Downham at Hay this year (same time that I saw Lisa Williamson and Holly Bourne – more detail here), talking about this book. So, naturally, I wanted to read it. I finally did, some six months or so later. Thank god. It is epic.

The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

img_4255

I started reading this in the bath. I haven’t picked it back up since, honestly, but I plan to. Sometime. Probably on Christmas Day.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

13-reasons-why

I am halfway through this as of now (19th December 2016), and I like it so far. No spoilers, though. I might write a review of this, if I find the time. Although, it took me two days to write this post, I might leave it until the new year.

 

Leave a Reply

