asexuality, coming out, LGBT

National Coming Out Day

Today (11th October) is National Coming Out Day, so I thought I’d better make something to commemorate it, especially as I have a LOT to say on the subject.

First of all, it’s just a day. You shouldn’t EVER feel pressured to come out from anyone or anything, especially not a day. It’s really not important for you to coincide your coming out with October 11th. You don’t even have to come out at all. There’s a lot of emphasis placed on coming out in the LGBTQIA+ community, mainly because many people go through a lot of trouble with it and the implications that it can have.

coming-out
Even if you don’t tell anyone, you are not alone in doing so.

But you shouldn’t feel like you have to. When it comes down to it, you’re not required to tell anyone anything about your life. It’s yours, and nobody else should be allowed to judge you for it.

Even if you do want to come out, remember that it’s most important that you’re safe to do so. If you’ve got a family who may not be so accepting of your sexuality or gender, than wait until you can safely support yourself to do so. In the end of the day, your safety is most important.

I’ve been out of the closet, as such, since last year, and it’s been one hell of a journey. Luckily I have an extremely supportive family, boyfriend and group of friends, that all see my sexuality for what it is, and not as what many others view it to be. It was the best decision for me at the time, as someone who was desperate to get their point of view across, and to raise awareness of the asexual community.

I don’t have much else to say on this subject now, I can’t say for all of you who may be reading this. But whatever you are – Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Pansexual, Demisexual, Asexual, or whatever – you are valid, and I couldn’t be prouder.

not-alone-image

Various websites that might help you in deciding whether to come out or not, and to help you if you do decide to, whenever that may be:

LGBT Foundation

BBC advice on coming out (this only covers Gay/Lesbian/Bi but it’s information that can be applied to any sexuality or gender issue)

RUComingOut (this has lots of coming out stories and hints, lots of them from prominent figures. If nothing else, this is worth a read!)

I will be doing another post on my own experiences with gender and sexuality in the next few days, so I’ll include links to everything that helped me come to terms with asexuality and everything that it means there. I was going to include it in this post, but there’s so much to say on the subject that I can’t possibly just cram it in at the end here.

I will link to the post here when it’s uploaded to my blog.

6343504_orig 

 

Leave a Reply

