books, I have nothing else to post

My Summer In Books

 

The Art Of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

image1 (2)

I got this at the Hay Festival – I also got to meet the author! She was lovely, and also signed my book for me. I’d actually already got and read the book, but I forgot them on the day so I brought another one to get signed. 

The Rest Of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

image7

This was another pick up from Hay – unfortunately Patrick Ness wasn’t around for me to get it signed. At Hay Festival they always have a massive bookshop that includes all the books nominated for awards and authors that visited that year. I got this book there. I took it outside and read it in an hour.

Silence Is Goldfish by Annabel Pitcher

image11

I go to a lot of charity shops, which is where I got this beauty. Hardback, only £1. Considering its a relatively new book too, this was quite the find. And that’s why I love charity shops.

How To Fall by Jane Casey

I got this out of my local library a few weeks back, after they got a whole load of new books in. I can’t remember exactly when or where I read it, but I’m pretty sure I had a mug of tea on hand.

Say Her Name by James Dawson

This was another library book, but in this case I took it up to Aston University in Birminghman when I went up with my NCS wave. We had to sit through about seventeen presentations of general things, so I brought this to them to read through it. People kept reading it over my shoulder… That bothers me.

Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan

Another book I read in a single sitting – at about eleven pm at the beginning of July. I think it was after I came back from my year eleven prom. But anyway, that’s all I remember of it. Apart from, of course, I read it with my tea only a short stretch away.

Katherine Of Aragon, The True Queen by Alison Weir

I took this to NCS with me, but on the first week. That was an outdoor activity centre, and the fact that I’d brought a book, especially a book as massive as this one, seemed to baffle most people. 

Finding Violet Park by Jenny Valentine

I can’t remember much about reading this, but I first read it when I was about nine. I re-read it recently, as I couldn’t remember the plot, and I’m so glad I did. Jenny Valentine crops up a few times in this list, too.

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

I found this really hard going? I normally really enjoy crime and mystery novels, but this was hard to read. I finished after about a week though. I don’t think I’ll go back for the sequels… But eh.

The Ocean At The End Of The Lane by Neil Gaiman

I love Neil Gaiman so much. He’s someone I would give my right foot to meet. Honestly, he’s a massive idol, and this book was amazing.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

image6

I got this book (along with two others) in a really awesome bookshop in Grand Central Station, Birmingham. I could live in that shop. I also spent £16 odd there… Yeah. See, this is why I’m broke. I spend all my money in pretty bookshops.

Before I Die by Jenny Downham

And another library book! I really love my town’s library. It’s small, but they recently moved it to a restored old building, and everything’s really lovely. I worked there last summer, so I know it pretty well as well. I go up at least once a week.

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Guess what… from the library. Read with green tea, as a change. I was in a green tea kind of mood.

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

image3

I’m going to review this for LGBTQuibble tomorrow, as I went to the library yesterday (surprise surprise) to get it out again. I love it so much… I’m going to buy it as soon as possible. I need to. It also won the Carnegie Award, and I’m so glad it did.

One by Sarah Crossan

Come to think of it, I’ve met Sarah Crossan too! I went to the YA Book Awards at Hay Festival (which is where I met Lisa Williamson, and Holly Bourne too) and this book won the overall award! Unfortunately I didn’t get it signed, because I don’t own the book. I got it out of my school (well… old school) library. But hell, I’m getting it at the first chance I have.

Fire Colour One by Jenny Valentine

Hello again, Jenny Valentine. This also came out of my old school’s library (those things are a blessing. I’ll be sorry to leave that library behind) – they do Carnegie shadowing each year, if you’re lucky enough to be year eight. I wasn’t allowed to do it this year because I was ‘too old’ or some bullshit like that.

Broken Soup by Jenny Valentine

image5

I got this book at the Oxfam Bookshop that appears at the Hay Festival each time the Festival itself appears in its field. I actually got a few (they all appear in this list too, at some point) because as I said before, charity shops and Oxfam in general are just amazing. Cheap books? Sign me the fuck up, that’s some good shit.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

This was another loan from my school library. I spent too long looking for books that day, so I ended up picking up the first books that I saw. I’m not sure why I actually read this… But I did. One step closer to my 100 book Goodreads target!

The Lavender Keeper by Fiona McIntosh

image12

In England, there’s a shop called The Works, which sells cheap books and stationary and games and stuff. I got this, along with two other books, in there. I’ve only added this to the list because I actually brought them back in February, but I only just got around to reading this one. I have an excuse.

The Marriage Game by Alison Weir

I’m getting kind of obsessed with historical fiction… But I got this out of my local library (again!) and yeah… My town’s library has a lot of historical fiction to get through. 

Angel by L.A. Weatherly

image2 (1)

Another pick up from Hay Festival’s Oxfam Bookshop. I read it for the first time a couple of years ago, so when I saw it going cheap I decided to pick it up, give it another read. Have I read it yet? …no.

Angus, Thongs And Full Frontal Snogging/It’s OK, I’m Wearing Really Big Knickers! by Louise Rennison

image8

I brought this book off my friend, at the charity car boot sale that my NCS group did. I said they were for my sister, but honestly they’re just for me. Because I’m a massive fan of the series. They’re genuinely hilarious.

Knocked Out By My Nunga Nungas by Louise Rennison

image10

I got this at the same place and time as the book above, along with a teddy bear. Because damn, I love teddy bears. I still have all my own teddy bears from when I was a smol.

Are These My Basoomas I See Before Me? by Louise Rennison

image9

My final purchase from Hay Festival’s Oxfam Bookshop… Ah, the last in the series. Such a good time. I want to go back to Hay Festival now… But I have to wait until next May. 

The Colour Of Magic by Terry Pratchett

image1 (3)

Hay On Wye (where the Hay Festival is) is very well known for its awesome bookshops – mainly Booth’s bookshop. Its massive, and it has a basement dedicated to fantasy and sci-fi books. I spent a good few hours in there… But I eventually came out with this, as I’ve been meaning to read Discworld for AGES. 

The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

image4

I went to my county’s pride event with some of my friends, and we had some time to kill before we got the bus back to our town. We managed to stumble across a vintage shop, complete with amazing clothes, records, and books. I picked this up here, because it’s beautiful. I also accidentally spilt strawberry perfume on it, but that’s another story.

That’s it! That’s basically a summary of my summer (“What’s summer?!” all my fellow Brits cry) in books!

Follow me on Goodreads at https://www.goodreads.com/tardisinthelibrary and see whether I actually manage to read another 50 odd books in the rest of 2016.

Leave a Reply

